Advice from a Bennett Veteran, by Ewan Trollope

The process of writing this began with two rather enthusiastic Bennett Buzz editors asking for articles containing advice for Bennett students. As I understand it, they included me in this request due my serving a seven-year stint at Bennett. I say this not as a form of qualification, but so you know I give this advice freely, but you may (as freely), ignore it.

My first piece of advice comes from the words of George Michael… because you’ve ‘gotta have faith’. When I say this, I am not necessarily talking in a religious sense, but about having faith in yourself and those around you. Firstly, it’s important to have faith in your teachers. Whilst everyone has a favourite teacher, and the inevitable opposite, it is important to remember how hard they all work. Among the many things my seven-year term at Bennett has shown me, I have learnt that the teachers at Bennett are some of the best, and are willing to put the time and effort in to help you reach your full potential. In summary, have faith that your teachers want to help you realise the best version of yourself. Secondly, have faith in your friends. It took me longer than it should have to realise how important friends are in school life. Whether you are academic or not, love school or not, friends are the cornerstone of coping with the stresses and strains of life at school. It’s important to support each other, make sure you have a laugh, but also remember it’s ok to talk about the stress school in general can create (I am a great believer in a good rant). Thirdly, have faith in yourself: school is never easy for everyone all the time, but just because you may be struggling does not mean you are not capable. I know you will have heard it before, but self-belief is really important, especially around exam season. If you believe you can succeed you have a much higher chance of succeeding.

I am sure you will be glad to know that my next few pieces of advice will be over a little more quickly. So, my second piece of advice is to work hard. If any of you have asked for advice from people a few years above before, I am almost certain they will have told you to put the effort in, and to do so earlier rather than later.  Most students realise relatively late that they need to be the one to put the work in, as whilst your teachers will help you, they will only put in as much effort as you, and showing them that you are willing to work hard will make them want to help you. As well as this, you are going to have to put the effort in sometime, so putting the effort in sooner means the workload is spread out rather than in one massive chunk, leaving you to cram right before an exam, which is never fun for anyone.

Piece of advice number three is ensure you have a routine. This is mostly aimed at the lower years but it is still important. I am giving this advice from a place where I did so many lunchtime clubs that I only had one lunchtime free, and whilst I am not saying you have to go that far, I would certainly encourage you to break up the week with a club or two. It was important for me to ensure that there was something that I looked forward to everyday. I guess what I am really trying to say is ensure you strike a balance between school stuff and fun stuff; working hard doesn’t mean that you can’t have fun. In fact, working hard makes having fun all the more important: keep up hobbies and try new stuff every so often. You can’t work yourself too hard or you will burn out, so ensure you make a routine that contains stuff you enjoy.

My next piece of advice is, don’t let the world get you down. During my time at Bennett, I would consistently check the news to keep myself informed, and it’s a mad old world out there. Whilst it is really important to be informed, and to care about the world, and fight for what you believe in, don’t let it overtake your own stuff. There is only so much you can do or change; it is important to remember to take care of yourself. It’s not selfish to prioritise your own mental health and ensure you are aware of your own sphere of influence.

Lastly, stay true to yourself, no matter your age, or at what stage of your school career you are. Keep your quirks, and the fun childish side of your personality, don’t be afraid to be yourself, as long as you’re kind to others. This is perhaps the most important piece of advice I have given. If you embrace your weird side, the other stuff will fall into place. I hope you find these pieces of advice helpful, and I wish you luck!

Written by Ewan Trollope